The pioneers

Overlooking the Arce valley, Chacenay castle has been an icon of this aera since the XIth century. It gave its name to the Champagne Chassenay d’Arce. The founding winegrowers set it up in 1956 on the village known as Ville sur Arce in the very South of the Champagne region.

The winegrowers chose to cooperate together. Thus, they put together their know-how and their productions of grapes to build up an identity and a brand that would belong to the Arce valley. They chose for their headquarters a huge mansion of character. Their heritage is made of bricks and local stones and reflects the generous subsoil of the Côte des Bar. This “Maison de Vignerons” has been the gathering point of all the 130 families who have joined in this heart-warming adventure for more than 50 years.

It is here, in the heart of the Côte des Bar, in Argançon, Bar sur Seine, Bertignolles, Buxières sur Arce, Chacenay, Chervey, Eguilly sous bois, Loches sur Ource, Ville sur Arce, Vitry le Croisé that the wine-growers of Chassenay d’Arce exploit 325 hectares of a remarkable and unique vineyard.

“Each winegrower does his best to reach excellence. Our richness resides in the gathering of our differences” current chairwoman Franck Barroy sums up. She is the granddaughter of the founding chairman of the cooperative.

Three generations later, the spirit of the pioneers of Chassenay d’Arce is still as lively as before.